CMCPS logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CMCPS Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt

TL;DR
  • CMCPS is issued by the International Commission on Health Care Certification (ICHCC); the exam is proctored by Prov from a home or office computer.
  • The ICHCC application/exam fee is $495, plus a separate Prov proctoring charge; the ICHCC retest fee is $150.
  • The seven domain names mirror the seven public approved-training modules and are unweighted preparation headings, not an official blueprint.
  • Question count, timer, passing threshold, and pass rate are not published in the sources reviewed, so beware of anyone quoting them.

What You Are Actually Studying For

The Certified Medical Cost Projection Specialist credential is awarded by the International Commission on Health Care Certification (ICHCC). It is an examination-based credential, but the exam is only one gate among several. Before you ever sit for it, ICHCC expects you to show education, professional experience, completed approved training, and a sample medical cost projection that has gone through peer review.

That shape matters for how you study. A medical cost projection is a focused, itemized estimate of the future medical costs associated with an injury or condition. It is distinct from a comprehensive life care plan, and the credential's identity is built around that narrower work product. Your preparation should therefore center on how a projection is defined, how it is built, how it is documented, and how its line items are coded and priced.

If you are still orienting yourself to the credential itself, our explainer on what CMCPS certification is covers the basics, and the broader CMCPS requirements guide goes deeper on eligibility. This article assumes you intend to pursue the credential and want a practical plan for getting through it on the first attempt.

The Order of Operations: Prerequisites Before Prep

Many candidates make the mistake of treating "studying" as a phase that starts the week before the exam. For CMCPS, a large portion of your preparation is baked into the eligibility pathway itself. Understanding that pathway first prevents wasted effort.

Eligibility in plain terms

  • Education: an associate degree, or one of the specified exceptions for diploma registered nurses, licensed insurance adjusters or agents, and certificated paralegals.
  • Experience: at least 12 months of qualifying full-time work during the preceding three years.
  • Training: an approved 45-hour training program.
  • Sample work product: a sample medical cost projection together with its peer-review critique.

The training component is where most of your content learning happens. Modules 1 through 6 make up the 45-hour program, and Module 7 is the separate sample-report and peer-review requirement. In other words, the "study guide" for this credential is largely the approved curriculum itself, and your exam preparation is about consolidating it rather than discovering new material at the end.

Why the order matters: Because ICHCC requires approved training and a peer-reviewed sample projection as part of the application, you cannot shortcut straight to exam-style drilling. Plan your calendar around finishing the training and report first, then use the remaining time before testing to consolidate. Our CMCPS exam dates and scheduling guide explains how timing interacts with application processing.

What Is (and Is Not) Publicly Known About the Exam

Credibility is the most valuable thing a study guide can offer, so here is a direct accounting of what the public issuer and training sources do and do not say.

TopicWhat the public sources establish
Certifying bodyICHCC
Proctoring providerProv, with candidates testing on a home or office computer
Result turnaroundResults available within 24 to 36 hours
Number of questionsNot specified in the sources reviewed
Time limitNot specified in the sources reviewed
Question format and scored/unscored splitNot specified in the sources reviewed
Passing thresholdNot specified in the sources reviewed
Pass rateNot specified in the sources reviewed
Official domain weightsNot published; no official blueprint with item percentages was found

This is worth taking seriously. The 45 training hours, the 7.5 instructional hours per module, and the 10 credit hours for Module 7 describe the training program. They are not exam durations, and they are not scoring weights. If you see a website quoting an exam length or a percentage per domain for this credential, treat it with suspicion unless it cites ICHCC directly.

We cover the unknowns in more detail in our guides on the CMCPS passing score and the CMCPS pass rate, and the question of relative difficulty is addressed in how hard the CMCPS exam is. The short version: prepare for breadth across the whole curriculum rather than betting on a guessed weighting.

The Seven Domains, Walked Through

The seven domain names used on this site reproduce the titles of the seven public modules in the approved training pathway. They function as unweighted preparation headings. Here is what each one asks of you, drawn from the public module descriptions.

Domain 1: The Basics of the Medical Cost Projection

This foundation module supplies a working definition of a medical cost projection, identifies the stakeholders in the projection process, and explains how projections are used in the industry. It also introduces the ethical standards that apply and outlines the components of a projection.

  • Be able to define a projection in your own words and distinguish it from a life care plan.
  • Know who the stakeholders are and what each needs from the document.
  • Learn the ethical standards cold, since they frame every later decision.

Domain 2: The Basis & Methodology for the Medical Cost Projection

Here the focus shifts to rules and methods. The module defines the "contextual framework" for a projection, reviews the methodologies used in the discipline, and outlines the procedures a specialist follows to complete a referral or assignment.

  • Understand what the contextual framework is and why it constrains what you may include.
  • Be able to walk through the steps of handling an assignment from receipt to completion.
  • Know the methodologies well enough to explain why one fits a given situation.

Domain 3: The Referral Form & The Report Format

This module covers the referral process and the report format commonly used. It provides a detailed explanation of the referral form and the report format, along with practical hints for smooth processing.

  • Know what information a referral must contain before work begins.
  • Recognize the standard sections of the report and their purpose.
  • Pay attention to the processing tips, since they reflect real workflow expectations.

Domains 4 and 5: Injury Types, Review & Assessment (Parts 1 and 2)

These two modules together cover six injury types commonly encountered by medical cost projection specialists, with the considerations, review, and assessment specific to each. The public descriptions do not name all six categories, so rely on your actual course materials for the specific list rather than guessing.

  • For each injury type, learn what records you would review and what needs the injury typically generates.
  • Practice explaining why assessment differs across injury types.
  • Remember that the modules acknowledge they cannot list every possible injury, so the skill is a transferable method, not memorized lists.

Domain 6: The Medical Cost Projection: Coding & Pricing

This module teaches the process of identifying a proper code and price for each item in a projection, the pricing options available, and where to obtain those prices.

  • Practice matching a described service or item to an appropriate code.
  • Know the pricing options and the strengths and limits of each source.
  • Be able to justify a price in a way a reviewer would accept.

Domain 7: A Sample Medical Cost Projection Report

The final module provides a sanitized version of an actual projection and supporting resources to tie Modules 1 through 6 together. After completing it, you should be able to request the documentation needed to build your own projection for peer review.

  • Read the sample as an integrated demonstration of every earlier module.
  • Treat it as the template for your own required report.

For a deeper treatment of each area, see our full CMCPS exam domains guide, and keep the one-page CMCPS cheat sheet handy for last-pass review.

Important distinction: Module 7 is a sample-report and peer-review requirement, not a verified seventh scored exam domain. The report you write is a separate deliverable from the certification examination, and the course-completion quizzes are separate again. Do not assume the exam tests the report writing process the way the report requirement does.

Fees, Proctoring, and Scheduling Mechanics

Knowing the administrative flow removes surprises on test day. Based on the current September 2026 application packet linked from the ICHCC program page:

  1. Submit your application and pay the $495 application/examination fee to ICHCC.
  2. Allow at least seven business days for processing.
  3. After approval, ICHCC supplies a candidate ID and an examination voucher.
  4. You then schedule your exam with Prov and test on a home or office computer.
  5. Prov charges a separate $30 proctoring fee, paid directly to Prov.
  6. Results are available within 24 to 36 hours.
Cost itemAmountNotes
ICHCC application/examination fee$495Paid to ICHCC
Prov proctoring fee$30Paid directly to Prov
Training Modules 1-6 (AAACEUs)$899Approved pathway pricing
Module 7 sample report (AAACEUs)$399Separate from Modules 1-6
ICHCC retest fee$150If a retake is needed

Adding the $899 training, the $399 report module, and the $495 application/exam fee yields a calculated $1,793 subtotal. That figure is explicitly before proctoring, so it is not an all-inclusive total. For the full picture and what it means for return on investment, see our CMCPS certification cost breakdown.

Sequencing Your Study Around the Domains

Generic scheduling advice is not very useful here, so this plan is tied to the structure of the credential. It assumes you are working through the approved training and consolidating as you go. Adjust the pacing to your own situation; there is no official required timeline for studying.

Weeks 1-2

Foundations and Methodology (Domains 1-2)

  • Master the definition, stakeholders, and ethical standards before anything else.
  • Rehearse the contextual framework and the assignment-handling procedure, since later modules assume them.
Week 3

Referral and Report Format (Domain 3)

  • Learn the referral form and report structure while the methodology is still fresh.
  • Sketch a blank report outline from memory and check it against the course material.
Weeks 4-5

Injury Types (Domains 4-5)

  • Build a one-page summary per injury type covering review considerations and assessment points.
  • Do this as two blocks, mirroring Parts 1 and 2, so the six types do not blur together.
Week 6

Coding and Pricing (Domain 6)

  • Practice assigning codes and sourcing prices for realistic items.
  • This is the most procedural domain, so repetition pays off more here than elsewhere.
Week 7

Integration and Practice (Domain 7 and review)

  • Re-read the sample report as a synthesis of everything above.
  • Take timed practice questions from the CMCPS practice test site and revisit weak domains.

The reason for this order is dependency. Methodology and ethics underpin referrals and report format, which in turn underpin how you assess injury types and price them. Studying coding and pricing before you understand the contextual framework tends to produce memorization without judgment.

Treating the Sample Report as a Study Asset

The Module 7 sample is sanitized from a real medical cost projection, which makes it the single most concrete artifact in the curriculum. Use it actively rather than skimming it.

  • Annotate by module. Mark each section of the sample with the module that taught the concept behind it. This turns the report into a map of the whole curriculum.
  • Trace one line item end to end. Pick an item and follow it from the referral through assessment, coding, and pricing.
  • Note reviewer expectations. Your own projection goes to peer review, so pay attention to how the sample justifies its entries.

One caution from the provider materials: the overview contains a stray final mention of a sample life care plan. Both the ICHCC requirement and the surrounding Module 7 description call for a sample medical cost projection and its peer-review critique. Keep the correct identity in mind and do not substitute a life care plan.

Key Takeaway

Do the Module 7 sample report work early enough that peer-review feedback can inform your final exam review. Insights from the critique about justification and documentation reinforce the same judgment the coding, pricing, and methodology material tries to build.

CLCP Holders, Retakes, and Renewal

If you already hold a CLCP or CCLCP

Current CLCP and CCLCP holders in good standing may bypass Modules 1 through 6, but they must still complete Module 7's report with review and still sit for the CMCPS examination. This is an audit-out of training, not an exemption from the exam. If this describes you, concentrate your effort on the distinction between a projection and a life care plan, since your existing expertise can create habits that do not fit the narrower projection format.

If you need a retake

The ICHCC retest fee is $150. Because the sources reviewed do not publish a pass threshold or pass rate, a retake plan should be diagnostic: identify which domains felt weakest and revisit them using your module notes rather than starting over.

Looking ahead to renewal

Renewal is every three years and requires 15 CEUs, including five ethics CEUs. The fee is $300 with preapproved CEUs or $350 when non-preapproved CEUs are submitted. Renewal by examination costs $795 and is available before expiration; it is not available after expiry. These renewal figures are administrative and have no bearing on the initial exam.

Preparation Mistakes Specific to This Credential

  • Importing facts from other credentials. The CMCPS acronym is shared by several unrelated certifications. Fees, dates, and pass rates from another credential will not apply here. Verify anything against ICHCC directly.
  • Treating training hours as exam length. The 45 hours, 7.5 hours per module, and 10 credit hours for Module 7 describe the course, not the test.
  • Guessing domain weights. No official percentages exist in the public sources, so allocate effort by your own weaknesses, not by a rumor.
  • Confusing a projection with a life care plan. They are related but distinct work products.
  • Inventing the unnamed injury types. The public descriptions mention six injury types without listing them; use your course materials.
  • Budgeting only for the exam fee. Training, the report module, and proctoring all sit on top of the $495.

Once you are certified, the practical payoff depends on the roles you pursue; our guides on CMCPS jobs, the CMCPS salary guide, and whether the certification is worth it can help you weigh the investment before you commit.

Frequently Asked Questions

Who issues the CMCPS credential?

The International Commission on Health Care Certification (ICHCC) issues the Certified Medical Cost Projection Specialist credential. Prov is identified as the proctoring provider in the current application packet.

How many questions are on the exam and how long is it?

The public issuer and training sources reviewed do not specify the question count, time limit, item format, or scored/unscored split. Check the current ICHCC materials for any updates rather than relying on third-party figures.

What is the passing score or pass rate?

Neither a pass threshold nor a candidate pass rate appears in the public sources reviewed. Be cautious of any site presenting specific numbers without citing ICHCC.

How much does it cost to get certified?

The ICHCC application/exam fee is $495, plus a separate $30 Prov proctoring fee. The AAACEUs pathway lists $899 for Modules 1-6 and $399 for Module 7, producing a $1,793 subtotal with the application fee, before proctoring.

Can CLCP holders skip the exam?

No. Current CLCP and CCLCP holders may bypass Modules 1-6, but they must complete Module 7's report with review and still take the CMCPS examination.

Preparing for this credential is less about cramming and more about building a coherent understanding of how a medical cost projection is defined, built, documented, coded, and priced. Work through the approved curriculum in order, use the sample report as your integrating tool, and confirm every administrative detail with ICHCC. For more orientation, revisit our companion CMCPS study guide resources and the practice test platform to pressure-test your understanding before exam day.

Ready to pass your CMCPS exam?

Put this into practice with free CMCPS questions across every exam domain.