- The Short Answer: What a CMCPS Actually Is
- Medical Cost Projection vs. Life Care Plan
- Who Issues the Credential
- What a CMCPS Does on the Job
- The Seven-Module Training Scope
- Who Qualifies to Sit for the Exam
- Fees, Proctoring, and Scheduling Mechanics
- What Is Not Publicly Specified About the Exam
- The CLCP and CCLCP Pathway
- Keeping the Credential Current
- Where to Go Next
- Frequently Asked Questions
- CMCPS means Certified Medical Cost Projection Specialist, an examination-based credential from the International Commission on Health Care Certification...
- A medical cost projection is a distinct work product from a comprehensive life care plan.
- The application and examination fee is $495, with a separate $30 proctoring charge paid to Prov.
- Eligibility includes 45 hours of approved training plus a sample medical cost projection with peer-review critique.
The Short Answer: What a CMCPS Actually Is
A CMCPS is a Certified Medical Cost Projection Specialist: a professional who has earned a credential showing competence in preparing medical cost projections. A medical cost projection estimates the future medical and related care costs associated with an injury or condition, and it is commonly requested in settings where someone needs a documented, defensible number for anticipated care. The credential is administered by the International Commission on Health Care Certification (ICHCC), and it is earned through an examination-based pathway that also requires education, professional experience, approved training, and a sample report.
If you landed here because you have seen the letters on a résumé or a job posting, the useful way to read them is as a statement about method. The holder has been trained in how a projection is structured, how the referral is handled, how injuries are reviewed and assessed, and how items are coded and priced. For a quick orientation on the acronym itself, our companion pieces on what CMCPS stands for and the meaning of CMCPS cover the vocabulary from slightly different angles.
Medical Cost Projection vs. Life Care Plan
The most common confusion around this credential is treating a medical cost projection as if it were a comprehensive life care plan. They are related fields, but the CMCPS identity is built around the projection. The requirement the issuer sets for candidates is a sample medical cost projection together with its peer-review critique, not a life care plan.
This distinction matters when you evaluate job postings and when you decide whether CMCPS is the right credential for your career. A professional whose work centers on broad, whole-person planning may be looking at a different credential family entirely, while a CMCPS focuses on the projection document, its methodology, its coding, and its pricing.
Who Issues the Credential
ICHCC offers CMCPS as an examination-based credential. Its public program page describes requirements across four areas: education, professional experience, approved training, and the sample medical cost projection. Passing is only one gate among several. A candidate who has not completed the training and submitted a sample report for peer review has not finished the pathway, however well they might perform on a test.
Training is delivered through a pre-approved pathway offered by AAACEUs, which publicly identifies its 45-hour program as approved for this credential. The examination itself is proctored by a separate provider, Prov, and taken on a home or office computer. Keeping those three roles straight (issuer, trainer, proctor) will save you confusion when you handle fees and scheduling, covered below.
What a CMCPS Does on the Job
The public module descriptions give a reliable picture of the work, because they walk through the lifecycle of a single assignment:
- Receive the referral. The specialist works from a referral form and follows a defined process for taking in the assignment.
- Apply a methodology. A "contextual framework" defines the basis for the projection, and the discipline's accepted methodologies guide how the work is done.
- Review and assess the injury. Each injury type carries its own considerations for review and assessment.
- Code and price the items. Each projected item needs a proper code and a defensible price drawn from available pricing options.
- Produce the report. The findings are assembled in the commonly used medical cost projection report format.
- Stay within ethical standards. The standards that apply to a projection run through the entire process.
The stakeholders involved in the projection process are also part of the foundational material, which tells you something about the work: a projection is never produced in isolation. It is requested by someone, relied on by someone, and potentially scrutinized by someone else. Our overview of CMCPS jobs explores the settings where this skill set gets used.
The Seven-Module Training Scope
The seven domain headings used throughout this site reproduce the seven public module titles in the AAACEUs pre-approved training pathway. They describe what you will study. They are not an official weighted exam blueprint, and no percentage allocation should be assumed. Modules 1 through 6 make up the 45-hour training program, while Module 7 is a separate sample-report and peer-review requirement.
Domain 1: The Basics of the Medical Cost Projection
The foundation: a working definition of a medical cost projection and its place in the industry.
- Stakeholders involved in the projection process
- How projections are used in the industry
- Ethical standards that apply to a projection
- Introduction to the components of a projection
Domain 2: The Basis & Methodology for the Medical Cost Projection
The rules and methods behind completing a projection.
- The "contextual framework" and how it is defined
- Methodologies employed by the discipline, reviewed in detail
- Procedures the specialist follows to complete a referral or assignment
Domain 3: The Referral Form & The Report Format
The intake side and the output side of the work.
- The referral process for medical cost projections
- A detailed explanation of the referral form
- The commonly used report format, with tips for smooth processing
Domains 4 and 5: Injury Types, Review & Assessment (Parts 1 and 2)
Together these modules cover six injury types most commonly encountered by projection specialists, outlining the considerations, review, and assessment specific to each type.
- The public descriptions do not name all six categories, so this guide does not either
- The modules emphasize the most frequent injuries rather than every possible one
Domain 6: The Medical Cost Projection: Coding & Pricing
How projected items become documented, priced line entries.
- Identifying a proper code for each item
- Pricing options available for a projection
- Where to obtain those prices
Domain 7: A Sample Medical Cost Projection Report
A sanitized version of an actual projection, with resources to help integrate Modules 1 through 6.
- Completing it positions you to request the documentation needed to build your own projection
- That projection then goes through peer review
For a deeper domain-by-domain walkthrough, see our complete guide to the seven CMCPS content areas, and for a preparation plan built around them, the CMCPS study guide. Because the published module list is a preparation scope rather than an issuer blueprint, a sensible approach is to learn all seven areas rather than guessing at which ones matter most.
Who Qualifies to Sit for the Exam
Eligibility is layered. A candidate needs an educational foundation, recent work history, completed training, and a sample report. In summary:
| Requirement | What the issuer specifies |
|---|---|
| Education | An associate degree, or one of the specified exceptions: diploma registered nurses, licensed insurance adjusters or agents, and certificated paralegals |
| Work experience | At least 12 months of qualifying full-time work during the preceding three years |
| Training | Approved 45-hour training |
| Sample report | A sample medical cost projection with its peer-review critique |
The exceptions to the degree requirement are notable because they reflect the kinds of backgrounds that feed into this field: nursing, insurance claims work, and paralegal work. If you are unsure whether your own background fits, our CMCPS requirements guide goes through the prerequisites in more detail.
Fees, Proctoring, and Scheduling Mechanics
The current administrative details come from the September 2026 application packet linked on the issuer's webpage, which supersedes older application versions. The process runs in a fixed order:
- Submit the application and pay the $495 application and examination fee to ICHCC.
- Allow at least seven business days for processing.
- After approval, ICHCC supplies a candidate ID and an examination voucher.
- Schedule your exam with Prov and test on a home or office computer.
- Pay Prov's separate $30 proctoring fee directly to Prov.
- Expect results within 24 to 36 hours.
If you need to retest, the ICHCC retest fee is $150. On the training side, the AAACEUs pathway lists $899 for the six training modules and $399 for the separate sample-report module.
What Is Not Publicly Specified About the Exam
Candidates often want hard numbers on the test itself. The current public issuer and training sources do not specify the certification examination's question count, numerical timer, item format, scored versus unscored split, pass threshold, or candidate pass rate. Anything you read elsewhere that states those figures with confidence deserves skepticism unless it cites the issuer directly.
A few numbers in the public materials are easy to misread as exam parameters, so it helps to be explicit about what they are not:
- The 45 training hours, the 7.5 instructional hours per module, and the 10 credit hours for Module 7 describe the training, not the length of the exam.
- Course-completion quizzes and the Module 7 peer-reviewed report are separate from the certification examination.
- Renewal credit counts and renewal periods are unrelated to initial exam scoring.
The practical consequence: prepare for the full scope of the seven modules, and treat questions about timing and cut scores as open until the issuer publishes them. We keep tabs on those questions in our pieces on the CMCPS passing score, the CMCPS pass rate, and exam difficulty, each of which is careful to distinguish what is documented from what is not.
The CLCP and CCLCP Pathway
ICHCC's program explicitly allows current CLCP and CCLCP holders in good standing to audit out of Modules 1 through 6. They must still complete Module 7, including the sample report and its review, and then sit for the CMCPS examination.
Key Takeaway
The CLCP or CCLCP route shortens the training requirement, not the credentialing requirement. Those holders skip the Modules 1 through 6 coursework, but Module 7 and the certification examination remain mandatory.
This is a frequent misreading, so it is worth repeating: bypassing the early modules is not an exemption from the exam.
Keeping the Credential Current
Once earned, CMCPS is renewed every three years. The standard route requires 15 CEUs, at least five of which must be ethics CEUs. The renewal fee is $300 when you use preapproved CEUs, or $350 if you submit non-preapproved CEUs. There is also a renewal-by-examination option at $795, which must be used before expiration; it is unavailable once the credential has lapsed.
| Renewal route | Requirement | Fee |
|---|---|---|
| Preapproved CEUs | 15 CEUs including at least 5 ethics CEUs | $300 |
| Non-preapproved CEUs | 15 CEUs including at least 5 ethics CEUs | $350 |
| Renewal by examination | Must be done before expiration | $795 |
The ethics requirement echoes the early emphasis on ethical standards in Module 1, a reminder that responsible practice is treated as an ongoing obligation rather than a one-time lesson.
Where to Go Next
If you are weighing whether this credential suits you, start with the economics and fit: our analysis of whether CMCPS is worth it and the CMCPS salary guide discuss the career side. If you have decided to proceed, the practical sequence is to confirm eligibility, complete the 45-hour training, build and submit your sample projection for peer review, apply, and then schedule with the proctor. For a fast review of the facts above in one place, the CMCPS cheat sheet condenses them, and when you are ready to test your recall, you can try questions on the CMCPS practice test site.
A final note on scheduling your own preparation: because the seven modules are an unweighted scope, there is no issuer-backed reason to skip any of them. If you must prioritize, sequence them in the order the training does. Foundations and methodology (Domains 1 and 2) come first because the later material assumes them. The referral and report format (Domain 3) follows, then the injury-type modules (Domains 4 and 5), and coding and pricing (Domain 6) last, since pricing a projection only makes sense once you know what is being projected. Domain 7 ties it all together and should be treated as practice for the real report you will submit, not as a quick read. If you want practice that mirrors this structure, our practice exams are organized around the same seven areas.
Frequently Asked Questions
Here it stands for Certified Medical Cost Projection Specialist, a credential from the International Commission on Health Care Certification (ICHCC). The acronym is shared by other, unrelated credentials, so check the full name when you see it in a posting. See also what CMCPS stands for.
No. They are distinct work products. The CMCPS requirement is a sample medical cost projection with its peer-review critique, and the credential is built around the projection rather than a comprehensive life care plan.
The ICHCC application and examination fee is $495, plus a separate $30 proctoring fee paid to Prov. The AAACEUs training pathway lists $899 for six modules and $399 for the sample-report module, giving a calculated $1,793 subtotal before proctoring. Retesting through ICHCC costs $150.
The current public issuer and training sources do not specify the question count, timer, item format, pass threshold, or pass rate. Be cautious about any source that states them without citing the issuer.
No. They may bypass Modules 1 through 6, but they must complete Module 7 with its report and review and still sit for the CMCPS examination.